Twenty-two extraordinary seniors will be recognized at the 15th annual Ageless Remarkable St. Louisan’s Gala, presented by the St. Andrew’s Resources for Seniors System. The event celebrates the outstanding achievements of adults age 75 and older who are dedicating their “golden years” to bettering the region. The gala is scheduled for Saturday, Oct. 28 at the Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch, and it will feature dinner, entertainment by Fanfare, and emceed by St. Louis Public Radio’s Don Marsh.

Ageless Remarkable St. Louisans 2017:

  • Rev. Dr. Jack Batten
  • Sr. Judith Ann Bell, FSM
  • Judy Bentley
  • Don Carlson
  • Dr. Will and Hellen Carpenter
  • Louis D. Cohen
  • Arthur H. Gale, M.D.
  • Barbara Gehringer
  • Raymond Hoffstetter
  • Dr. Ira J. Kodner
  • Joan and Norman Krumrey
  • Ernest Theodore Kretschmar
  • Judy Luepke
  • Arthur J. McDonnell
  • Henrietta Parram
  • Judith L. Roberts
  • Earl Robert Schultz, M.D.
  • William “Bill” Siedhoff
  • Robert Snyder
  • Bernice Thompson
whens 101117.jpg

The Inns at St. Albans celebrates their first viable grape crop at the October 8 Centennial Crush. The event marks the first wine from the Studio Hill Vineyard and celebrates the 100th anniversary of the Studio Inn. David and Datra Herzog, owners of The Inns at St. Albans, planted and developed one acre of Norton grapes which are ready for harvest. The crush features music, wine, food, and a stomping of the grapes.

holy name.jpg

Lawrence J. Volk was named Citizen of the Year for 2016 by the South County Chamber of Commerce. Volk is a Delmar Gardens resident who grew up in a formerly poor South St. Louis City neighborhood and later moved to South County. As a child, Volk was a Server at St. Vincent DePaul Church, where he was inspired to care for the poor and needy families in the area. He has maintained his allegiance to this church by organizing golf tournaments, trivia nights, homecomings, spaghetti dinners, and was the President and Founder of the parish’s Holy Name Society. He founded the Solid 50 Club, named for the 50 men who grew up together, which raised money for the elderly and kids in the neighborhood. In addition, he and the Dominican Sisters from the parish started the Heart and Home Family Center in E. St. Louis. The prestigious award recognizes Volk for consistent excellence in professional and community leadership; significant contributions to the welfare of the community through participation and involvement; freely giving time and energy for positive economic growth and stability. Volk was honored on August 24 at the Hollywood Casino. 

matthew horn.png

Matthew Horn

University City High School announced last August that social studies teacher Matthew Horn was named as a finalist for Missouri State Teacher of the Year. Horn was one of six finalists for the honor given by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE). In addition to being a social studies teacher, Horn is also the assistant varsity football coach for the U. City Lions. He uses both positions to build relationships and make lasting connections with students. His nomination packet included touching and funny essays by students who seem to suggest that he and his students were already winners, regardless of the outcome.

Carrie Cowardin, PhD, Jeffrey Gordon, MD, and Vanderlene Kung, MD, PhD.png

Carrie Cowardin, PhD, Jeffrey Gordon, MD, and Vanderlene Kung, MD, PhD


Dr. Jeffrey Gordon, MD, researcher at Washington University School of Medicine, has been awarded the 2017 Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize by Columbia University. Gordon’s work has demonstrated that the gut microbiome functions as a microbial organ within the larger human organism. He and his students are studying the gut microbial communities from malnourished children, and they have developed microbiota-directed therapeutic foods designed to repair microbiota immaturity. Gordon’s work has led to a fundamental shift in understanding the roles of these microbes in human health and disease. The Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize is one of the top awards honoring contributions to the biological sciences.

Local photographer, Shana Watkins of Shana Watkins Photography, was honored with several awards, including Missouri Photographer of the Year 2017. A panel of 33 jurors from across the nation selected the top photographs from nearly 5,800 entries. She was honored at the Missouri Professional Photographers Conference last August. Watkins’ work will be on display at the Gaylord Opryland Convention Center in Nashville, TN, January 14-16, 2018. Her photograph titled, “I’ll Never Leave Your Side,” will be in the International Photographic Exhibition.

Dan Skoff, Chawna Schuette, St. Louis AAZK Chapter President, Penny Jolly, AAZK President, Mallory Carmean, Emma Miller and Rick Smith.jpg

Dan Skoff, Chawna Schuette, St. Louis AAZK Chapter President, Penny Jolly, AAZK President, Mallory Carmean, Emma Miller and Rick Smith

The St. Louis Chapter of the American Association of Zoo Keepers (AAZK) was awarded the 2017 Barbara Manspeaker AAZK Chapter of the Year award at the annual AAZK National Conference in Washington, D.C. Members of the AAZK St. Louis Chapter include animal care professionals, employees, docents and volunteers at the Endangered Wolf Center, Grant’s Farm, Saint Louis Zoo, and World Bird Sanctuary. The chapter was recognized for its leadership in advancing the animal care profession, dedication to the association and for promoting conservation to the general public. Recipients are selected by the Board of Directors of the Association.

Bud Panetti, Paul Epps, John Epps, Operation Food Search Executive Director Sunny Schaefer, and Sam Cardinale.jpg

Bud Panetti, Paul Epps, John Epps, Operation Food Search Executive Director Sunny Schaefer, and Sam Cardinale

Operation Food Search (OFS) held its 24th annual golf tournament and raised more than $53,000. Proceeds will benefit the agency’s programs toward ending childhood hunger and family food insecurity in the St. Louis bi-state region. The day-long golf outing included lunch, dinner, and live and silent auctions. Sponsors included Ascension, Enterprise Bank & Trust, Mercy, Miller Lite, Russo’s Catering, St. Louis Community College, and Seeger Toyota Scion.

More The Cut articles.