Ladue High School junior HANNAH ROSENTHAL is one of 26 students nationwide to win the Princeton Prize in Race Relations, given to those who promote harmony, understanding and respect among people of different races. Hannah was invited to Princeton earlier this month to speak before faculty and students about her experiences as an advocate of tolerance and diversity. She helped reestablish her high school’s diversity club, providing students with a comfortable venue to discuss issues like stereotypes and religious differences. She’s also an alum of Cultural Leadership, a special social justice program for teens partially funded by churches and synagogues.

Another honor for ROGER BEACHY—he’s the latest recipient of the Peter Raven Lifetime Achievement Award from the Academy of Science. The award recognizes a distinguished career of service in science and promotes outstanding St. Louis scientists. Prior to joining the Obama administration as director of the National Institute of Food & Agriculture, Beachy served as founding president of the Danforth Plant Science Center.

We salute our area’s 2010 NATIONAL MERIT SCHOLARSHIP WINNERS. They include: CHI ZENG of Clayton H.S.; KELLY SCHUERING of Cor Jesu Academy; SUPRIYA HOBBS, DEVON CAMP, ALEXANDER GOEL, RADHIKA JAIN, JINGJIE LIU and ETHAN PFEIFER of John Burroughs School; ALEXANDER CREELY, NOWRIN HAQUE and MARTA WELLS of Lafayette H.S.; PHILIP HSU and KAIXI WANG of Marquette H.S.; RYAN SILA and MARGARET VAN CLEVE of MICDS; JOY HE of Parkway Central; DIANE SHEN and PAULA VAUGHT of Parkway South; SAI BOODRAM and RAJIV TARIGOPULA of Parkway West; MARY WATERMAN of Rosati-Kain; MATTHEW MENENDEZ of Saint Louis Priory School; MATT BETTONVILLE, LUKE CHELLIS and DANIEL PIKE of SLUH; STEPHANIE KLIMCZAK of Villa Duchesne; JESSICA D’SOUZA and JULIA D’SOUZA of Visitation Academy; JULIA BAKKER-ARKEMA of Webster Groves H.S.; and GRACE JOHNSON and NICHOLAS ARNOLD of Westminster Christian Academy. Each National Merit finalist receives a $2,500 scholarship in recognition of their accomplishments, skills and potential for success in rigorous college studies.

National Endowment of the Arts (NEA) chairman and St. Louis native ROCCO LANDESMAN is the featured speaker at next week’s Regional Arts Commission 25th anniversary celebration. Landesman, a former Broadway theatrical producer, has been busy touring the country to see how art works in different communities. The May 21 event will be his first public appearance in St. Louis since taking the NEA helm last year.

You’ll wanna ‘hair’ about this…They may be having trouble containing that massive oil spill in The Gulf, but there is a way for you to help: GINGER BAY SALON in Kirkwood, J’LABII HAIR DESIGN in Clayton, KENNELWOOD PET RESORTS and others are involved in an effort to collect hair (yes, hair—and fur!) to help clean up the spill. In partnership with MATTER OF TRUST and AVEDA, clippings from haircuts and fur trims are being collected and donated for use to create usable materials to soak up oil. The idea is borrowed from a 3,000-year-old Chinese recycling system for hair, fur and wool.

Multi-Grammy Award winner MICHAEL McDONALD will highlight a benefit for the National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse—St. Louis Area July 23 at The Touhill. We’re told that McDonald, one of music’s most recognizable voices, will perform his early hits with STEELY DAN and the DOOBIE BROTHERS, as well as favorites from his solo career.

The city of Olivette has a new mayor: RUTH SPRINGER was unanimously elected during a city council meeting in late April. A seven-year Olivette resident, Springer has served as a councilwoman since 2004, and recently completed a two-year term as Barnes-Jewish Hospital co-president.

Kudos to DR. DAVID CAPLIN for receiving the Citizenship & Community Service Award from the Missouri State Medical Association. Caplin, of Parkcrest Plastic Surgery, is the co-founder of Gateway to Hope, an organization that arranges medical and surgical care at no cost for underinsured or uninsured breast cancer patients.