When…816 people gathered at The Ritz-Carlton for the MICDS Sesquicentennial Dinner, ‘Celebrating 150 Years of Great Teaching?’ Keynote speaker Dr. William Danforth acknowledged the superior work of the many teachers at MICDS. Pictured: Lisa Lyle, Jim and Libby McDonnell, and Spencer and Phoebe Burke.

When…Press Club of Metropolitan St. Louis held its annual meeting and award breakfast, honoring Joan Berkman and Alice Handelman with the prestigious ‘Catfish Award’ for exemplary contributions to the Press Club and to the field of communications? Also honored was Bill Smith, recipient of the President’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Pictured: Charles Knoll, Bill Smith, Walter Knoll III, Steve Edwards, Keith Alper, Joan Berkman, Jim Anderson, Richard Weiss and Joe Holleman.

When…Reed School’s Sustainability Committee received the first ever Green School of the Month Award from ECOlifeSTL.com? Pictured: Tim Beirne, Lynn de Learie, Debby Siegel, Jenny Duncan, Dr. Chris Schreiner, Cyndee Blank, David Lauber and Ginger Smith.

When...the Engineers Club of St. Louis, the third oldest engineering society in America, held its annual Christmas Dinner? Pictured: Joe Krispin, John Baker, Marie Collins, Ron Kadane, Bill Ehrhard, Bill Clark, Pam Hobbs, Omar Feeler, Gary Aronberg and Ed Johnson.

When…The Young Professionals Board of Saint Louis Crisis Nursery raised $14,400 at its second annual ‘Party with a Purpose’ at Bar Napoli? Proceeds benefit Crisis Nursery’s five 24-hour safe havens for children and its programs to prevent child abuse and neglect throughout the area. Pictured: Heidi Glaus and Bryan Kaemmerer.

When…The Chefs de Cuisine Association of St. Louis held the Chef of the Year Award Gala and Dance at Ameristar Casino and honored Gatesworth executive chef Brian Hardy as Chef of the Year? Pictured: Charles Dubuque and Chef Hardy.

When…Leader Lunch 29, sponsored by YWCA Metro St. Louis, recognized the contributions of women in the workplace and the community? The luncheon, held at the Millennium Hotel, honored eight Leaders of Distinction, Racial Justice Leader Billie Mayo and Future Leader Laura Coghlan. Pictured in front: Billie Mayo, Consuelo Madere, Katherine Bell, Krista Mosby and Laura Coghlan. In back: Mary Nelson, Mary Kullman, Agnès Rey-Giraud, Joyce Aboussie and Darcella Craven.