CITY ACADEMY received a $1 million gift from the Crawford Taylor Foundation for endowment. The gift supports the school’s efforts to offer an expanded Early Childhood Program. With the help of this grant, plans to expand to a total of 175 students by 2014 are in place. Pictured: D’Niya Ammons, Chantell Johnson and Chontell Johnson of City Academy's new Early Childhood Program.

GATEWAY FIELD HOCKEY CLUB OF ST. LOUIS finished in second place in the top flight of the National Disney Field Hockey Showcase in Orlando, Fla. The U16 team, coached by Melissa Lantz and Nina Walters, won a silver medal competing against 96 top teams from the US and Canada. Team members, representing seven high schools, included: Emily Adamson, MICDS; Cecelia Fox, John Burroughs; Olivia Hewitt, Visitation; Morgan Hudspeth, Villa Duchesne; Liz Jackson, John Burroughs; Lilly Sansone, Ursuline; Katie Schmid, John Burroughs; Taran Stahle, Villa Duchesne; Whitney Williamson, MICDS; and Claire Woods, Nerinx Hall.

ST. LOUIS CHILDREN'S HOSPITAL staff, patients and supporters gathered recently at Chaminade's Skip Viraugh Center for the red-carpet premiere of Children's Hospital's new TV series, The Frontline for Hope. The documentary series, a co-production between Coolfire Media and Coolfire Originals, followed several patients, families and hospital staff throughout their personal hospital journeys. The Frontline for Hope airs Saturday nights at 6:30 on KSDK NewsChannel 5 from March 16-April 20. Pictured: Stacey Wunderlich, Emily Warner and Dr. Barb Warner and Dr. Brad Warner, two St. Louis Children's Hospital physicians featured in The Frontline for Hope.

JDRF Greater Missouri and Southern Illinois Chapter thanked its corporate walk teams, riders, corporate sponsors and volunteers at an awards celebration held at Orlando Gardens. Together, they raised $1.4 million for type 1 diabetes research and research-related education.

Four local golfers had the rare opportunity to compete for a national title on one of the nation’s premiere golf courses. The foursome comprised of two groups: Leo Dumstorff, John Krekovich, Michale Leopold and Jim Reichert, as well as Rick Betterton, Dan Cloyd, Dan Reynolds and Darren Reynolds. They teed off in the National Kidney Foundation Cadillac Golf Classic National Finals held at PEBBLE BEACH.  Funds raised through the tournament help support the National Kidney Foundation. Pictured: Leo Dumstorff, John Krekovich, Michale Leopold, and Jim Reichert. Photo by Acey Harper.

ST. LOUIS OVARIAN CANCER AWARENESS (SLOCA) received several significant grants during the 2012 calendar year, including a $20,000 award from the Salsich-Hoehn Foundation, which was formed in 2004 to honor the legacies of Denise Salsich and her daughter, Heidi. Pictured: Stephanie Stewart, Emily Henley, Maria Nash, Heather Lawyer, SLOCA president Beth Hudson, Bridget Andrews and Gretchen Salsich.

ROBB WOLKEN, a long term care specialist with Northwestern Mutual in St. Louis, presents a check of $3,117 to the St. Louis Learning Disabilities Association, a nonprofit that develops targeted solutions for children, parents and professionals in order to help students maximize their potential. The donation was from Wolken’s winning ticket at the Northwestern Mutual Memorial Golf Tournament. Pictured: from left: Northwestern managing partner Steve Gross, executive director of St. Louis Learning Disabilities Association Pam Kortum and Wolken.

DANCE ST. LOUIS announced the winners of its 2013 Dance Career Awards--students who are exceptionally motivated in dance and show potential for a professional career. This year’s winners include four students from University City H.S. and one student from Central Visual and Performing Arts High School. Pictured: Award winner Ta'Shayla Montgomery and Michael Uthoff.

THE ANDREW OLSON FOUNDATION has donated $7,000 to the Make-A-Wish Foundation to grant wishes to children with life-threatening illnesses. The Foundation was started in 2009 in memory of Andrew Olson, son of Dave and Jacqueline Olson of Wildwood.  Its purpose is to help families who have children with cancer. Pictured from left: Phillip and John Olson, brothers of Andrew Olson; and Julia Hart, Denise Belton and Stacie Crabtree of Make-A-Wish

Congratulations to the following residents of MCKNIGHT PLACE EXTENDED CARE who were recently recognized at the 16th Annual Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Birthday Observance and Awards Program for the work they have done in the community: Judge Donald Stohr, Eleanor DeWald, Hugh Scott, Dr. Leslie and Anita Bond. Mary O'Brien also was honored for her many years as an educator, as was Michael Goodman, staff at McKnight Place Extended Care.

BENJAMIN AKANDE, dean of the George Herbert Walker School of Business & Technology at Webster University, received the 2012 Pillar in the Community award from the Clayton Chamber of Commerce during a luncheon in his honor. Pictured: Apex's Mike Schoedel, Akande, Clayton Chamber's Ellen Gale and Centene's Keith Williamson.

Congratulations to the students who participated in the 2013 ACADEMY OF SCIENCE - ST. LOUIS SCIENCE FAIR. The top two students—Uttara Chakraborty (homeschooled) and Katherine Hufker (Lindbergh H.S.) will represent St. Louis at the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair in May. The rest of the top 10 finalists included: Hannah Wiedner (Parkway Central), Madeleine Drivier (Rockwood), Allison Gmelich (Cor Jesu), Kristin Geczi (MICDS), Fowzia Osman (Rockwood), David Wang (Lafayette), Elizabeth Xing(Ladue), and Alice Zou (Parkway South). Pictured: Top 10 students in the science fair.  

FRIENDSHIP VILLAGE CHESTERFIELD started a multi-million dollar expansion on 30 new independent living apartments and a heated underground parking garage. The retirement community’s master plan, still in refinement, will bring the capacity at Friendship Village Chesterfield to more than 450 apartment homes and villas. Pictured: Friendship Villages corporate operations director Mike Heselbarth, resident Sarilda Blake, and Chesterfield Mayor Bruce Geiger.


More Charities & Non-Profits articles.