Nearly 300 world-renowned scientists and science advocates attended the Academy's 22nd Annual Outstanding St. Louis Scientists Awards ceremony on April 7 at the Chase Park Plaza. Guests were treated to a cocktail hour and dinner followed by an award ceremony.  During the ceremony, some of St. Louis’s finest researches had a chance to share their ground breaking findings with a captivated audience. 

Dr. Cheryl Asa received the Peter H. Raven Lifetime Achievement award for her research that has contributed to the recovery of of a wide range of species, including the endangered island fox, Urocyon littoralis.  Dr. Asa is Director of Research and Director of Association of Zoos and Aquariums Reproductive Management Center at the Saint Louis Zoo.

Dr. Henry Foley, interim Chancellor of the University of Missouri — Columbia, received the Science Leadership award for developing scientists in our region. He has been named inventor on 16 U.S. patents. He is a tenured professor of chemistry at Mizzou, and a tenured professor of chemical and biochemical engineering at the Missouri University of Science and Technology. 

Dr. Yuanlong Pan, Senior Research Scientist at Nestle Purina Petcare, received a George Engelmann Interdisciplinary award. Dr. Pan's discovery research identified a blend of nutrients that support the structure and function of the brain to promote neurogenesis in aging animals — a major advancement which is also groundbreaking for human health.

Dr. Gary Stormo also received a George Engelmann Interdisciplinary award.  He is Joseph Erlanger Professor in the Department of Genetics at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. Dr. Stormo is a leading figure in the development of algorithms for data mining of DNA sequence data. His work has contributed to the understanding of regulation of gene expression.